FAQ

Here are some of the most frequently asked questions by callers to our Desk Sergeant’s Office, at 850 – 435 – 1900:

Q. Where is the Pensacola Police Department?


A. 711 N. Hayne St., one block south of Cervantes Street at the Interstate 110 overpass.

Q. What is your mailing address?


A. P.O. Box 1750, Pensacola, FL 32591-1750.

Q. What time is the parade/fireworks downtown?


A. Whenever we know the time of an event, we give it.

Q. What is the state law regarding child restraints?


A. Children from birth through three years must be restrained in a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child seat. Children ages four and five years must be restrained in a separate carrier, an integrated child seat or a child booster seat. Failure to comply with child restraint requirements could result in a minimum fine of $166.
Also, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Florida unless each passenger under the age of 16 is restrained by a safety belt or by a child restraint device. All drivers of motor vehicles are required to wear a safety belt, plus it is unlawful for any person 16 years of age or older to be a passenger in the front seat of a motor vehicle unless they are restrained by a safety belt when the vehicle is in motion. Failure to comply with any of these state laws could result in a minimum fine of $116.

Q. How do you get a restraining order on someone?


A. Contact the Family Law Division in the Escambia County Courthouse, located at 190 W. Government St., or by calling (850) – 595 – 4331.

Q. Who is the Mayor?


A. Ashton J. Hayward, III

Q. What is the address for City Hall?


A. 222 West Main Street at the corner of Spring and Government streets.

Q. Can you tell me if there is a warrant for my arrest? Can you tell me if there is a warrant on my friend?


A. Either question can be answered by the Desk Sergeant at 850.435.1900.

Q. When and where can I go to get fingerprinted, how much does it cost, and what do I need to bring with me?


A. Fingerprints are done between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays in the department’s Records Section. Cost is $5 for the first card and $2 for each subsequent card. You must bring picture identification. Applicants must not sign the cards in advance.

Q. When and where can I go to get a dancer permit, how much does it cost, and what do I need to bring with me?


A. Dancer permits are issued between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays in the department’s Records Section. Cost is $30 for first-time applicants and $30 for renewals, which are issued annually. Replacement cards are $10 if the owner’s card has not expired and was issued within the past year. Applicants must be at least age 18 and must bring a picture identification.

Q. When and where can I go to get a taxi permit, how much does it cost, and what do I need to bring with me?


A. Taxi permits are issued between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays in the department’s Records Section. Cost is $16 for first-time applications and permits; renewals are $6 and are done every September. There is also a $10 notary fee if that is done at the department; otherwise, the permit can be taken elsewhere to be notarized. Applicants must bring a valid Florida driver’s license. Also, applicants must not have been convicted of or released from incarceration for a class three felony in the United States within the preceding three years; a class two felony, a class one felony, a capital felony, or a life felony; have more than one DUI; or a sex crime or be listed on a sexual offender or sexual predator registry.

Q. How can I get a copy of a report and what does it cost?


A. Copies of reports are 15 cents per page single sided and 20 cents per page double sided. Copies of traffic homicide reports are $25 each and cost of traffic citation copies is 50 cents each.
Among the other services and fees are: $3 plus cost of copies if applicable for background record checks, $10 each for taxi and wrecker vehicle inspections, and $5 for bank security ID card. The amount charged for research time is $12 per hour which is prorated in 15-minute increments after the first 30 minutes of research at no cost.
Mail requests can be sent to the Records Section, Pensacola Police Department, P.O. Box 1750, Pensacola, FL 32591 – 1750. Requests should include a case number if it is available.

Q. When do you have vehicle and property auctions?


A. These events occur one to two times annually. Advertisements are placed 10 days in advance in the legal section of the Pensacola News Journal Classifieds and are also broadcast and printed by various local media.

Q. How do I apply for a job with the Pensacola Police Department?


A. Please contact Officer Lonnie Isom at 850.435.1960 or email him at LIsom@ci.pensacola.fl.us.

Q. How can I get into rookie school?


A. Contact the George Stone Center, 2400 Longleaf Dr., Pensacola. The telephone number is 850.944.6775.

Q. Can a person under 18 leave home and get married without parental permission?


A. For information on marriage licenses, contact the Escambia County Clerk of the Court’s Office, 850.595.4300.

Q. What time does the city noise ordinance go into effect?


A. The city noise ordinance is in effect from 11 p.m. until 7 a.m. However, excessively loud noises can be reported to police at any time.

Q. Do I have to register my firearm(s)?


A. No.

Q. Where can I get an application for a concealed weapon’s permit?


A. These are available around-the-clock at the Desk Sergeant’s Office at police headquarters, 711 N. Hayne St., but are not processed at the department. It will cost about $115 to complete the application process. For additional information on what is required to apply and/or to make an appointment (which is required) please contact the Department of Agriculture Division of Licensing at 850 – 833 – 9146. Their office is located at 111 Racetrack Road, Unit 111-C, Choctaw Plaza, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547.

Q. Can I have an officer’s home phone number?


A. We cannot release that information, but will take a message and ensure that an officer receives it.

Q. Can you tell me if someone is in jail and what is the number to the jail?


A. The Pensacola Police Department does not have a jail. All people who are charged with crimes are taken to the Escambia County Jail, which has two facilities: 2935 North L St. & 1200 W. Leonard St. The number to find out if someone has been arrested is 850.436.9676.

Q. What is the number for Traffic Court?


A. 850.595.4360.

Q. What is the number for the Escambia County Sheriff’s Office?


A. 850.436.9630.

Q. What hours are you open?


A. The Pensacola Police Department is open around-the-clock.